Onehunga High School logo

Posted in General 2017 Senior Awards Ceremony

Date: 17 November 2017



2017 Senior Awards Ceremony

The highlight of the school year for many is the Senior Awards Ceremony, which is a formal celebration of the outstanding achievements of so many of our students.

From the moment the Kaikaranga called to the official party from the stage, and then the Kapahaka group sang, the audience was in their thrall.

In her opening address, Principal Deidre Shea explained how proud she was of our students who she described as ‘fine young people with moral purpose who demonstrate respect, integrity, loyalty and courage in their everyday lives’.

The musical items, as we have come to expect were outstanding. Hallelujah I love Her So, by Ray Charles, was performed by: Deniro Tavu’i, Tevita Teulilo, Teresa Filipe, Oscar Aspinall, Jacob Ngan-Sue, Michael French, Elijah Amituanai and Nathan Chitty.          

Tears were very evident with the poignant performance by the Year 12 & 13 music students of  “Hareruia” accompanied by special guest on piano, former student and past winner of Musician of the Year, Clinton Fakalata.

Onehunga High School enjoyed another year of outstanding results with students achieving the largest number of Onehunga High School Scholarships ever. These scholarships are awarded to students who have a grade point average of at least 95%. In addition we have more students achieving NCEA and more endorsed certificates than ever.

Many talented and hardworking students were recognised for their achievements in three categories; academic excellence, outstanding effort and service to the school. Congratulations to all award winners.

A huge thank you must be made to all those individuals, groups and institutions who continue to support our young people by providing the many scholarships that we are able to award to deserving students to help them continue with tertiary study. We are very humbled by and thankful for your ongoing support of our students.


We would especially like to acknowledge the following award winners:

Jubilee Cup                              Deniro Tavu’i

Humanitarian Award                Ava Hodgetts

People’s Choice Award           Pagia Wilson

Dennie Walls Endeavour Cup  Shanaya Deo 


Year 11 Merit Cup Boys           Mycesan Salatielu

Year 11 Merit Cup Girls            Karolina Vachudova

Year 12 Merit Cup Runner Up Thita Khenkhok    

Year 12 Merit Cup                    Matthew Moran


Dux Ludorum                           Mabel Tata

Proxime Accessit                     Filip Vachuda

Dux Litterarum                         Rosie Hayden


The Head prefects Maliana Siulangapo and Thomas Campbell  reflected on their time at OHS . They observed how much all of their cohort had grown and changed as a result of all the opportunities and challenges that they had faced. They thanked the prefect team and their Deans Mrs Webb and Miss Dobbie for their support and guidance. They look forward to their futures which they will face with Loyalty and Courage.

The ceremony ended with the singing of the school song afterwhich afternoon tea was served for all.



Website by 72DPI