Onehunga High School logo

Posted in General Students Hit the Red Carpet for Media OHScar Awards

Date: 30 October 2019

The Media Department’s hosted its annual OHScars awards on Tuesday evening. The night showcased the very best from Level 1 music videos, Level 2 horror film trailers and Level 3 short documentaries. A huge congratulations to these 2019 winners:

Best Editing – “Lil KC” trailer by Christine Anesone (12NE), Awatea Mackie (12NE), Melisa Ngaluafe (12NE)

Best Supporting Character – Campbell Briggs-Canavan (11PL) in “Jack” trailer

Best Costume – George Kolofoua (11AI) in “Sweet, But Psycho” music video

Best Interview – “Beauty School Dropout” documentary by Hannah Waddell (13AE), Reese Carnachan (13LU), Eressa Michel (13HW)

Scariest Scene – “Severed” trailer by Maya Edmunds (12WO), Sophie-Lee Bosson (12DO), Millie Rogers (12DO)

Best Cinematography – “While We’re Young” music video by Acura Chukau (11PK), Rohan Reddy (11PL), Isaac Nair (11PK)

Best Actress – Sharni Dreadon-Bell (11PL) in “Clarity” music video

Best Actor – Reuben Smith (12DO) in “Severed” trailer


The awards finished off with the prestigious ‘People’s Choice’ award, given to the fan favourite from the night. Audience members voted in a live Kahoot! for their favourite from across all three year levels. This year, the winner of the People’s Choice OHScar was “The Hollow” trailer by Ivan Merkulov (12ED), Reuben Smith (12DO), Nathan French (12DO)

You can check out the other nominees for People’s Choice, as well as the senior entry for this year's 48Hour film competition in below.

 "Making Moves" Level 3 Documentary

"While We're Young" Level 1 Music Video

"Shoot to Kill" (Senior entry into 48 Hour Film Competition)

Website by 72DPI