Onehunga High School logo

Posted in General Sports Awards 2020

Date: 30 October 2020



Sports Awards 2020

The Sports awards for 2020 were presented at a special assembly held this week. Principal Ms Deidre Shea, welcomed students, whanau and staff, to the awards ceremony and thanked them for persevering with training, playing, coaching, refereeing and supporting sports, in what has been a very disrupted and difficult year.

Sport is a very important part of life at Onehunga High School and it was exciting to see so many of our students recognised for their contribution to the sporting life of the school. Director of Sport Mr Chad Coombes also acknowledged the students who give up their time to coach, manage and referee teams.

While many students were recognised for outstanding team and individual performances and all are to be congratulated the following students are to be particularly applauded for receiving Badges:

Gold Badge  (Students who have played 3 seasons in a Premier team)

Krishit Chand -                 Volleyball

Jack Filoa       

Morticial Levi

Annie Manukeu

Nico Tuave

Paige Campbell                  Football

Briana  Insley

Paw Moo

Kemen Zulaika Nillesen

Daisy Fuavao                     Hockey

Dana Gasic

Esther Sefa

Linda Uasi

Morticia Levi

Millie Rogers

Nissi Aleni

Bennie Lam Sam

Salote Maile

Quinn Muliipu

Platinum Badge (Students who have played 4 seasons in a Premier team)

Elijah Belton                    Football

Maya Edmunds

Ashlee Gordon

Ashlee Gordon               Hockey

Elizabeth  Moi Moi          Rugby


The following students have excelled in their respective sorting codes and are Regional or National representatives.

Tyrone Woonton            Basketball Counties Manukau U17 Boys

Nathaniel Tangimataiti   Auckland Touch, New Zealand U16 League

Dylan Chandra              Auckland Karate

Leilani Rangi                 Pasifika Invitational U18’s, South Auckland Tag U21’s

Gabriel Harrison-Kauie    Tag Junior Oceania Cup U18’S Niue

Joseph Haiosi                  Tag U14’s Niue

Declan Haiosi                   Tag U14’s Niue

Sahara Viviani-Poelima    Tag U14’s Niue

Austin Masters                  NZ U14 Tag Football

Alec Insley                        Speedway ¼ Midget NZ Champion

Daniel Mercer                    National Secondary School U61kg Weightlifting Champion

Blake Costley                    Auckland Trampoline, NZ Trampoline

Christopher Latu                Tamaki Makaurau League U14

AJ Poutoa                         Junior Tag Nationals for South Auckland U16 Boy’s

Devontae Tamotu              Junior Tag Nationals for South Auckland U16 Boy’s

Shanley Tuwhangai           Aotearoa Māori Tag Football U16’S

Moana Tuwhangai             Aotearoa Māori Tag Football U16’S

Tinia Purotu                       Tag U14’s South Auckland

Kaylem Glassie                  Tag U14’s South Auckland

Blues Award (Students who have represented New Zealand in 2020)

Blake Costley                     New Zealand Trampolining

Nathaniel Tangimataiti        New Zealand U16 League


The awards ceremony ended with an inspiring and hugely entertaining speech from Liam Malone MNZM who is a former New Zealand para-athlete, primarily competing in sprint events. He represented New Zealand at the 2016 Summer Paralympics in Rio de Janeiro, where he won gold medals in the men's 200 metres T44 and 400 metres T44, and the silver medal in the men's 100 metres T44. Liams colourful  journey to success deserves its own article. Please keep an eye out for it soon!

Sincere congratulations to Mr Chad Coombes, Mr Karl Jacobson, DP Mrs Ceri Cheshire, DP Mr Murray Saunders and to the Sports Council for organising another successful event and to all students who participate in Sport in the school.


Website by 72DPI