Onehunga High School logo

Posted in General Senior Awards Ceremony 2019

Date: 05 November 2019



Senior Awards Ceremony 2019

The highlight of the school year for many is the Senior Awards Ceremony, which is a formal celebration of the outstanding achievements of so many of our students.From the moment the Kaikaranga called to the official party from the stage and then the Kapa Haka group sang, the audience was in their thrall.

In her opening address, Principal Deidre Shea explained how proud she was of our students, and their many and varied achievements. Ms Shea’s full address is published on this website. Ms Shea reminded guests that we would not be announcing Dux or Proxime Accessit at the conclusion of the Awards Ceremony, rather we would wait until all the confirmed assessment results were available before making any decisions. We hope that as many people as possible will attend our Onehunga High School scholarship assembly at the beginning of Term Two next year when the Dux and Proxime  Accessit will be announced.

The musical items, as we have come to expect, were outstanding. The OHS Boys’ Choir performed ‘Ev’ry Night When The Sun Goes Down’ and left us wanting more. The Jazz band performed ‘Autumn Leaves’ by Nat Adderley. Janie Pulu, Osamu Toafa, Josiah Faaaoga, Desiree Scanlan and Annie Manukeu performed ‘Broken Road’ by Rascal Flatts. Olive Fata, Lorna Salu Lepupa and Teuila Mealamu performed a traditional Siva Samoa to the music of Mozart. Sam Te Maari and Brandyn Talagi-Aholima performed a fusion of contemporary and hip hop to spoken word about the process of composition, which was fascinating.

Many talented and hardworking students were recognised for their achievements in three categories; academic excellence, outstanding effort and service to the school. Congratulations to all award winners. The Prime Minister’s Vocational Excellence Scholarship was awarded for the first time this year, Jaxon Foster the worthy recipient.

 A huge thank you must be made to all those individuals, groups and institutions who continue to support our young people by providing the many scholarships that we are able to award to deserving students to help them continue with tertiary study. We are very humbled by and grateful for your ongoing support of our students.

We would especially like to acknowledge the following award winners:

 Jubilee Cup                              Louana King

Humanitarian Award                Christine Russell

People’s Choice Award           Jasmine Nathan

Dennie Walls Endeavour Cup  Dhia Ugla


Dux Ludorum                           Blake Costley   Nathaniel Tangimataiti


Year 13 Outstanding Academic Achievers:  Clint Amores, Marco Smeets, Danika Thompson, Caitlin Read, Heron Twiss, Karolina Vachudova and Harry Ward-Hayes.

The Head Prefects Jasmine Nathan and Mycesan Salatielu reflected on their time at OHS.They observed how much all of their cohorts had grown and changed as a result of all the opportunities and challenges that they had faced. Both students are grateful for the friendships and camaraderie of their cohort. They thanked the prefect team, teachers and their Dean Ms Huri for their support and guidance.

The ceremony ended with the singing of the school song after which afternoon tea was served for all.

We wish to thank our graduating class of 2019 for the wonderful contribution that they have made to life at OHS and sincerely wish them well for the exciting journey ahead.

Kia pai tō haerenga.

Website by 72DPI