Onehunga High School logo

Posted in General Senior Awards 2023

Date: 03 November 2023



Senior Awards 2023

The awards ceremony for Year 12 and 13 students was held on Monday this week.

This formal occasion is an opportunity to celebrate the considerable achievements of our senior students and is a time of reflection for our Year 13’s who leave us to embark on the next stage of their journey.

Grateful thanks to Liam Rihia, for leading the opening Karakia, Mose Bourne for the Mihimihi, and the OHS Kapa Haka group for their wonderful Waiata Tautoko.

Principal Shameen Hayat thanked students, staff, former staff, Board members and the community for their support and welcoming of her into ”this very special community,” where the values of “integrity, curiosity and compassion are deeply ingrained in the hearts of students.”

Understanding the success of our students is predicated on the dedication of quality teachers, Ms Hayat has introduced the Fran Compton Award, made possible by the generosity of alumnus Mr Andrew Grant. Two teachers who demonstrate outstanding pedagogical practice will be awarded $2500 each. This year’s recipients are English teacher Ms Sam Gionotti and Science and Music teacher Ms Janel Tolentino.

Natalie Sifaheone performed a mesmerising dance piece titled ‘Nuie Honey’ and  “Aria’s Circus” whose members, Aria van Dolleweerd, Cameron Ross, Oliver Meade, Peter Muller, Elliot Wyness and Jarvis Skilling, performed, ‘Master Blaster.’

The ceremony ended with reflections from Head Girl, Sadie Woodward and Head Boy Gabriel Taani, both of whom spoke of the amazing journey they had been on from fresh faced and eager Year 9 students, through some challenging Covid years, to Year 13’s about to embark on the next stage of their journey. They thanked their cohort, for their support and friendship and thanked the staff, past and present for all that they had done for them all.

Finally, Year 13 Dean and Deputy Principal, Ms Bex Muipu, thanked the students for all they had taught her and reminded them that we all learn, even from failure and continued…  ”As you move forward into the world  beyond these school walls, remember that this is just the beginning of your journey. The knowledge and values you've gained here will be the foundation upon which you build your future. Embrace every opportunity, continue to learn, and use your gift to give back to others because it’s nice to be important, but it’s even more important to be nice.”

Congratulations to all award winners.

Prestigious Award Winners:

Cameron Ross -            Year 12 Top Scholar

Kaydence Ngutu -        Jubilee Cup

Soteria Gaogao -          Humanitarian Award

Marama Elliot-Keepa  Dennie Walls  Endeavour Cup

Lisa Hellyer -                 Dux Ludorum

Renee Huang -             Proxime Accessit

Oliver Meade -             Dux Litterarum.




Website by 72DPI