Onehunga High School logo

Posted in General Junior Awards Ceremony 2023

Date: 05 December 2023



Junior Awards Ceremony 2023

We celebrated the considerable  achievements of our junior akonga in an Awards ceremony on Monday. It was wonderful to have so many whānau and friends join us for the celebration.

The ceremony opened with a Karakia led by Rukutai Manukonga and Mihimihi led by Leigh’Gin Kuluia Hampton-Toko-Mikahere. Thanks to our tauira Māori for the Waiata Tautoko, which beautifully began the ceremony.

Principal Shameen Hayat addressed the school saying how proud and privileged she felt to be leading a school with such a strong history of success, academically, culturally and in the sporting arena. She particularly wanted to thank the staff for their dedication and the energy and expertise they brought to the school. Ms Hayaat acknowledged the Senior Leaders, Deans, teaching staff and support staff all of whom play an important role in ensuring each student reaches their own personal goals.

Entertainment was provided by Mele’ofa Finau and Zeva O’sullivan who performed a Samoan Cultural dance and Emma Roberts who stunned the audience with a magnificent performance singing Puccinis ‘O Mia Bambino Caro’.

Many talented and hardworking students were recognised for their achievements in three categories; academic excellence, outstanding effort and service to the school. Congratulations to all award winners.

We would especially like to acknowledge the following special award winners:

Tali Feu’u                                                      Junior Te Reo Māori Cup

Leigh’Gin Kuluia Hampton-Toko-Mikahere   Junior Tikanga Cup

Leigh’Gin Kuluia Hampton-Toko-Mikahere    Prefects Aspiring Young Leader Award

Lisa Hellyer                                                    Junior Sportsperson of the Year

Olivia Clark                                                     Loyalty and Courage Cup

Aqeliah Milina The Nicholas Joyce Memorial Cup

The most prestigious academic award of the ceremony is the Elma Aitken Junior Merit Cup, awarded for outstanding academic achievement. This year’s recipient was: Haani Patigaroo. Haani received Academic Excellence in Year 10 Business Studies, English, Mathematics, Social Studies and Money Matters. He was Top Year 10 student in Business Studies, English, Science and Money Matters. Congratulations Haani on your outstanding academic achievements.


Website by 72DPI