Onehunga High School logo

Posted in General 2021 Junior Awards

Date: 09 December 2021



2021 Junior Awards

What a positive end we have had to 2021 after what has been a very difficult year for all. Like the senior school before them, the Year 9 and 10 Award ceremonies were delivered virtually, so that all students and whanau were able to celebrate the achievements of our young people. A huge vote of thanks must go to Ms Huri, Mr Schaumkel and Mr McKay for their work organizing these.

Ms Shea in her address to the Junior school, spoke of how difficult this year dominated by COVID has been. Students have had to learn from home for months on end and she thanked families who have had to share the load for learning with the school. Ms Shea thanked all students, those working from home and those at school who have continued to live with Loyalty and Courage. Loyalty to yourself, your family and school is shown by persevering and Courage by keeping on moving forward, one step at a time. You have all done remarkably well and should feel very proud. Ms Shea concluded by wishing all the OHS whanau a safe and joyful break.

Congratulations to all students who received Academic, Service or Sporting awards.

We would like to especially acknowledge the following students:

Year 10

Deanne Philpott 10Sm    Junior Sportswoman of the Year.

Luke Grant 10Ll              Junior Sportsman of the Year

Presley Folau 10 Doz       Named in Brisbane Broncos Development Squad

Austin Marsters 10Doz    Named in the Warriors Development Squad

Gold LAC Badges

Magdalene Ieremia-Apelu 10 Dw

Talila Leavai  10 Doz

Year 9

Holly van Dolleweerd 9Bu - 10 Industry and Academic Excellence awards

Vansh Kumar 9Gd  -11 Industry and Academic Excellence awards

Gold Badge

Vansh Kumar 9Gd

Website by 72DPI