Onehunga High School logo

Posted in General 2018 Sports Awards

Date: 24 October 2018



2018 Sports Awards

The annual OHS Sports Awards were held last night in the school hall, which had been transformed into a sophisticated venue worthy of celebrating the achievements of our young sports men and women.

Director of Sport Mr Chad Coombes began the evening by acknowledging and thanking all of the students who had participated in sport this year, “...we need every single one of you when it comes to team sport  and each and every one of you are valued members of our teams.” Mr Coombes thanked all the coaches and managers, acknowledging the “sacrifice and hard work” they had put in to their teams.

Once again OHS was fortunate enough to have the wonderful Mr Willie Iosia MC the evening, for which we are very grateful.

We were absolutely delighted to have former All Black and current Blues and North Harbour player Matt Duffie as the guest speaker. Matt who lives locally, previously played rugby league with the Melbourne Storm for 6 years was a very popular and inspiring speaker. We would like to thank Matt most sincerely for taking the time out of his busy schedule to entertain and inspire us.

Congratulations and thank you to Mr Coombes and Mr Jacobsen for organising this celebration of sport at OHS. Congratulations to all those students who received awards and to the sports council, staff and students who contributed to making the evening a great success.

A full list of award winners will be published in the year book, and photos from the evening will be on the school facebook page.

Prestigious Award Winners

OHS Sporting Blues

The following students have represented New Zealand in 2018

John Ryan 13Do             NZ Gymnastics Team

Blake Costley 11Gt         NZ Trampoline

Ruth Dean 12Sn             NZ Volleyball

Danilo Tongia 11Dl         NZ Tag Football U16

Thawrne Teariki 12Wz   NZ Tag Football U21

Tournament Team of the Year

1st XIII     Rugby League

Kia Kaha Team of the Year

1st XI       Girls Hockey

2018 Team of the Year

Premier Girls Volleyball

Te Reo Powhiri Trophy

Ruth Dean 12Sn

Hillary Cup

Mikayla Greening 12 Wha  & Tareta Aumatangi 12Ed

Kelly Siebert Cup

Chryss Viliko 13Do

Bentley Cup

Sukhdeep Kaur Dhaliwal 13Mm


Dux Ludorum Nominees

Ruth Dean 12Sn

  • Premier Volleyball Team
  • Premier Netball Team
  • NZ Volleyball Development Team

John Ryan 13Do

  • Auckland Representative Gymnastics
  • NZ Senior Men’s Champion Gymnastics
  • NZ Gymnastics Team
  • National Champion with Auckland
  • 1st XI Football

Blake Costley 11Gt

  • Auckland Representative
  • Auckland Secondary Schools Champion
  • Auckland Senior Men’s Champion
  • North & South Island Champion
  • NZ Secondary Schools Champion
  • NZ Senior Men’s Champion
  • World Champion at Junior age group.

The Dux Ludorum for best athlete of 2018 will be announced at the Senior Awards Ceremony.


Website by 72DPI